The Arlington Historical Society is a 501c3 non-profit that was founded in 1897 for “the gathering and recording of knowledge of the history of Arlington and of individuals and families connected with the town, and the collection and preservation of printed and manuscript matter and other articles of historical and antiquarian interest.”
The Society operates the historic Jason Russell House, located at 7 Jason Street, as a historic house museum. The House is the site of the most intense fighting on April 19, 1775 as well as a unique example of vernacular craftsmanship of an ordinary farmer’s home. The Smith Museum located at 7R Jason Street was constructed in 1981, and houses both research and museum collections as well as interpretive exhibits. Both the house and Museum are open weekends seasonally, (spring through autumn). For details on hours and other programs, visit our website.